The Beatitudes

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit:
        the reign of God is theirs.
2. Blessed are the sorrowing:
        they shall be consoled.
3. Blessed are the lowly:
        they shall inherit the land.
4. Blessed are they who hunger
        and thirst for holiness:
        they shall have their fill.
5. Blessed are they who show
        mercy: mercy shall be theirs.
6. Blessed are the single-hearted:
        for they shall see God.
7. Blessed are the peacemakers:
        they shall be called sons of God.
8. Blessed are those persecuted
        for holiness' sake: the reign of
        God is theirs.